Division of Anaesthesia

School of Clinical Medicine


The University Division of Anaesthesia was formally established in 1991 on the Addenbrooke’s site with Professor J Gareth Jones as the first Head of Department. Departmental facilities are housed adjacent to the NHS Anaesthetic Department, Main Operating theatres, and the John Farman Intensive Care Unit.

In addition to office space, the Department contains an Image Processing Lab (funded by the Royal Society and supported by a high speed departmental network), and laboratory facilities for automated ELISA assays, immunohistochemistry, cell culture, digital confocal microscopy and molecular biology. Research themes of the Division focus on Acute Brain Injury, Physiology in Critical Illness, Consciousness and Cognition, Pain, and Patient Safety.