Home | A-Z    

The Primary Care Unit

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


» NIHR School of Primary Care Research

» MRC Epidemiology Unit

» Honorary Fellows
» Affiliated Lecturers
» Key Research Collaborators

» East of England SHA
» NHS collaborators 

NIHR School of Primary Care Research

The NIHR School for Primary Care Research, founded in October 2006 and with a revised membership from 1st October 2009, is a partnership between the eight leading academic centres for primary care research in England. The Director of the School is Professor Richard Hobbs (University of Birmingham). Other partners in the School are Professor Tony Avery (University of Nottingham), Professor Elaine Hay (Keele University), Professor Tony Kendrick (University of Southampton), Professor Anne Rogers (University of Manchester), Professor David Mant (University of Oxford), Professor Irwin Nazareth (UCL), and Professor Debbie Sharp (University of Bristol).  The School management is supported by Georgina Fletcher, Senior Scientific Manager.

The School’s main aim is to increase the evidence base for primary care practice. We will achieve this through:

  • high quality research to inform the development of clinical practice in primary care;
  • strategic leadership to support the development of primary care research.
National School for Primary Care Research Logo and Link

MRC Epidemiology Unit

The goal of the Unit is to study the genetic, developmental and environmental determinants of obesity, diabetes and related metabolic disorders and to contribute to the scientific basis of prevention.

Nick Wareham, Director MRC Epidemiology Unit

Simon Griffin, Programme Leader (Prevention), MRC Epidemiology Unit

MRC Epidemiology Logo and Link

Honorary Fellows

Arthur Hibble, Director of Postgraduate Education in General Practice, Eastern Deanery PGMDE, 3 Ida Darwin Site, Fulbourn, Cambridge CB1 5EE

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Theresa Marteau, Professor of Health Psychology, Psychology and Genetics Research Group, King's College London

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Affiliated Lecturers



Key Research Collaborators

Irwin Nazareth, Royal Free and University College Medical School
Andrew Farmer, Dept Public Health & Primary Care, University of Oxford
Paul Aveyard, University of Birmingham
Ann Bowling, University College London
Jon Emery, University of Western Australia
David French, University of Birmingham
Hazel Gilbert, University College London
Paul Kraft, University of Oslo
James MacKay, University College London
Susan Michie, University College London
Jostein Rise, Norwegian Institute for Alcohol and Drug Research
Paschal Sheeran, University of Sheffield



UK Clinical Research Network was established to support clinical research and to facilitate the conduct of trials. Click here to view their website.

Primary Care Research Network East of England. Click here to view their website and team personnel.

 Primary Care Research Network East of England UKCRN Logo

East of England SHA

Paul Cosford, Regional Director of Public Health


SHA Logo

NHS collaborators 


Last Updated on Monday, 27 September 2010 16:38  

Login or Out